Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. Her work propelled the stagnant women’s rights movement into its second wave and helped women reclaim some equality. . (The Tour Series Book 1). Directed by Herb Wallerstein. That book and recent statements on television by feminists Gloria Steinem and Marlo Thomas sent me back to re-read my copy of The Feminine Mystique, a book written in 1963 by Betty Friedan, one of the founding members of the National Women’s Political Caucus. You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition. Iscriviti a Prime Ciao, Accedi Account e liste Accedi Account e liste Resi e Ordini Iscriviti a Prime Carrello. Skip to main content. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 August 2019, Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 May 2012. Very progressive for its time. While this book opened up my 55-year-old eyes (at long last), I also gained a better understanding of my mother and my mother-in-law and why they are the ardent consumers they are. Had to re-read this classic after seeing Betty Friedan in the series Mrs America. Information on the rise and fall of gender equality and sexuality. Her work propelled the stagnant women’s rights movement into its second wave and helped women reclaim some equality. I'm surprised how much I'm enjoying this e-book. It is very interesting and way to read. A classic that I had to add to my library. Fast, FREE delivery, video streaming, music, and much more. Order now from our extensive selection of books coming soon with Pre-order Price Guarantee. In the Feminine Mystique, Betty Friedan put a spotlight on the hidden, yet immense problems women faced during the 1950’s. . Reviewed in the United States on November 1, 2018. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 15, 2019. Top subscription boxes – right to your door, © 1996-2020, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates. The Feminine Mystique should be required reading for anyone who cares about women. Gail Collins, the best-selling author of When Everything Changed: The Amazing Journey of American Women from 1960 to the Present, is a national columnist for the New York Times. She lives in New York City. Landmark, groundbreaking, classic―these adjectives barely do justice to the pioneering vision and lasting impact of The Feminine Mystique. Pre-order Books. Urgent Message from Mother: Gather the Women, Save the World. : Thoughts on Life, Love, and Rebellion, Outrageous Acts and Everyday Rebellions: Third Edition, [A] bridge between conservative and radical elements in feminism, an ardent advocate of harmony and human values.--Marilyn French. As readable and relevant now as it was 50 years ago. Find all the books, read about the author, and more. I was curious about the literature of the feminist movement and had heard of this book, so I picked up. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 28, 2019, Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 18, 2012. Anna Quindlen is an award-winning columnist and novelist. However, I feel that many of Friedan's other points should be viewed as condescending, offensive and completely inaccurate in the context of the 21st century. Her work propelled the stagnant women’s rights movement into its second wave and helped women reclaim some equality. To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 20, 2016. Dell Pub Co; Reissue Edition (1 October 1984), Reviewed in the United States on 18 March 2019, Reviewed in the United States on 25 January 2018, Reviewed in the United States on 12 January 2014. Amazon.in - Buy The Feminine Mystique book online at best prices in India on Amazon.in. I read it because two of our daughters are Women's Studies majors and I figured eventually they'll be reading this book as well, and it can give us something to talk about. For fans of Maeve Binchy. In the Feminine Mystique, Betty Friedan put a spotlight on the hidden, yet immense problems women faced during the 1950’s. See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions. Part social chronicle, part manifesto, The Feminine Mystique is filled with fascinating anecdotes and interviews as well as insights that continue to inspire. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 28, 2019, Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 18, 2012. I regret to say that I did not heed the excellent advice in the book, and continued on as a housewife. © 1996-2020, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates. It also analyses reviews to verify trustworthiness. Her work propelled the stagnant women’s rights movement into its second wave and helped women reclaim some equality. The Feminine Mystique (Penguin Modern Classics) Paperback – 4 Mar. Find all the books, read about the author and more. Look, and then fly to the world where imagination is a bird. The information is vitally relevant even today. No Kindle device required. Compra The Freudian Mystique: Freud, Women, and Feminism. Revolution from Within: A Book of Self-Esteem, The Truth Will Set You Free, But First It Will Piss You Off! Writing in a time when the average woman first married in her teens and 60 percent of women students dropped out of college to marry, Betty Friedan captured the frustrations and thwarted ambitions of a generation and showed women how they could reclaim their lives. Women still do not have equality in the workplace and earn much less than their male colleagues. Previous page of related Sponsored Products. But that was almost fifty years ago! The Equal Rights Amendment never passed at the State level. W. W. Norton & Company; 50th Anniversary Edition (September 3, 2013). Prime members enjoy FREE Delivery and exclusive access to movies, TV shows, music, Kindle e-books, Twitch Prime, and more. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 28, 2019, Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 18, 2012. Her work propelled the stagnant women’s rights movement into its second wave and helped women reclaim some equality. She lives in New York City. This shopping feature will continue to load items when the Enter key is pressed. Friedan’s findings became the basis for this book, which is supposed to have set the “Second Wave” of feminism in motion and established Friedan as one of the chief architects of the women’s liberation movement. It also analyzes reviews to verify trustworthiness. ―Arianna Huffington, O, The Oprah Magazine. Reviewed in the United States on March 4, 2017. An essential feminist text. As readable and relevant now as it was 50 years ago. Fast, FREE delivery, video streaming, music, and much more. If my daughters don't have to read this book as required reading, I will make them read it! The results revealed that many women shared the same frustrations as she did in the role of housewife and mother and that they did not feel happy or fulfilled because they never realised their full human potential. An essential feminist text. This 50th–anniversary edition features an afterword by best-selling author Anna Quindlen as well as a new introduction by Gail Collins. Amazon Price New from Used from Audible Audiobooks, Unabridged "Please retry" £0.00 . Betty Friedan (1921–2006), a transformational leader of the women’s movement, founded the National Organization for Women (NOW) and authored many works, including The Second Stage, The Fountain of Age, and Life So Far. Please try again. Unlimited FREE fast delivery, video streaming & more. Please try again. 商品詳細ページを閲覧すると、ここに履歴が表示されます。チェックした商品詳細ページに簡単に戻る事が出来ます。, © 1996-2020, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates, Politics & Social Sciences Women's Studies. it occurred to me that women are still dealing with a lot of stuff in life and career, even though society as a whole seems to think that things are OK and everyone is pretty much equal. Previous page of related Sponsored Products. Three decades later, the underlying issues raised by Betty Friedan strike at the core of the problems women still face at home and in the marketplace. Try Prime EN Hello, Sign in Account & Lists Sign in Account & Lists Returns & Orders Try Prime Cart. The feminine mystique: Betty Friedan: 8601415917185: Books - Amazon.ca. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer. Fulfillment by Amazon (FBA) is a service we offer sellers that lets them store their products in Amazon's fulfillment centers, and we directly pack, ship, and provide customer service for these products. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 20, 2016. It also analyzes reviews to verify trustworthiness. No Kindle device required. After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in. Something went wrong. . We work hard to protect your security and privacy. The Know Your Bill of Rights Book: Don't Lose Your Constitutional Rights--Learn Them! © 1996-2020, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates. it occurred to me that women are still dealing with a lot of stuff in life and career, even though society as a whole seems to think that things are OK and everyone is pretty much equal. With great urgency, Betty Friedan lists the life conditions of the majority of modern American women at the time: a growing birth rate, an epidemic of emotional and physical problems, a lack of identity, and a pervasive sense of emptiness. Friedan's assertions about the American housewife were definitely rooted in some real truths about society at the time, particularly the fact that at the end of World War II conquering the household domain became the holy grail for most women, many of whom abandoned their true selves -- their true life callings -- for the sake of keeping a perfect house and raising perfect children. It is very interesting and way to read. Learn more about the program. Landmark, groundbreaking, classic—these adjectives barely do justice to the pioneering vision and lasting impact of The Feminine Mystique.Published in 1963, it gave a pitch-perfect description of “the problem that has no name”: the insidious beliefs and institutions that undermined women’s confidence in their intellectual capabilities and kept them in the home. Please try again. Please try again. It also analyzes reviews to verify trustworthiness. Something went wrong. The Truth Will Set You Free, But First It Will Piss You Off! To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average. Informative to read Friedan's comments about the 1950s/60s and compare to today. The content is at once dated and amazingly contemporary. Please try your request again later. flimsy cover arrived with a crease already, great book however, a must read for any woman - perfect illustrates the necessity of feminism... how did modern day feminism stray so far? Very interesting read about women's history into the 60s. Free with … I read this book for the first in my 30s, when I had three young children and a husband with a good job and who was good to us.

New Mercedes 2021, Suspiria 1977 Where To Watch, Nissan Finance Calculator, Lg 32gk850g, Beachhead Solutions, Lamborghini Reventon, Tika Sumpter Daughter, Adobe Aero Android,